The young brigade powered India to a historic Test series win over Australia with a 3-wicket victory in Brisbane Test. Team India retained the Border-Gavaskar trophy by clinching the series 2-1 as it was the first time when the Asian giants emerged victorious in back to back series Down Under. Earlier, during 2018/19 tour, Virat Kohli and Co. scripted the same result and hammered Australia 2-1. While, this time, Team India was without Kohli after the opening Test where the visitors suffered a massive 8-wicket defeat.

Rahane took over the charge after Kohli’s departure and led the team immensely well to a historic series.

Meanwhile, on Day 5 of the final Test, Shubman Gill laid the foundation of the most epic victories in India’s Test history as he slammed 91 runs. Shubman, who was just playing his third Test match of career, took the responsibility on his shoulders after Rohit Sharma’s dismissal, to give a chance to claim the series. 

In the end, it was Rishabh Pant, who produced another scintillating performance in the fourth innings, to prove he is touted as the next big thing in Indian cricket. Pant played a fantastic unbeaten knock of unbeaten 89 runs to power Team India to a 3-wicket win. At a moment in the last 10 fours, Team India needed to run a ball to win the match and Pant changed his gears in total ease for an emphatic win.

Batting great Sachin Tendulkar also hailed the Indian players for playing fearlessly on the Australian soil and called it one of the greatest series wins.

India Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to Twitter to congratulate Team India on their emphatic series win.

Your comments

Loading Facebook Comments ...