Mumbai, July 11  The creator of the upcoming web series ‘Dr Arora’ says as the show is set in the 90s era, the music album is an ode to the era that perfectly set the tone of the narrative.

The album is comprised of multiple songs written by poet and lyricist Irshad Kamil, composed by classical musician Niladri Kumar and music director Sunny MR. One folk song has been composed and performed by Narrottam Bain.

Talking about the album, Sunny MR said, “The show is set in the 90s, one of the golden eras of Hindi film music. My songs are an ode to that decade and its musical ethos.”

Adding to that Irshad said, “Penning the lyrics for ‘Dr. Arora’ has been a delight not only because of the wonderfully talented people involved but also because of the old-world charm the show possesses. Coming together with Imtiaz again for the show is thrilling as usual. I hope the songs strike the right chord with the audience.”

Niladri said, “Music weaves its own story and has always been integral to a film. I am happy to see it take prominence now in web series too. ‘Dr. Arora’ is a very refreshing script and I’m delighted to be a part of it. The two songs that I have composed for the show have different flavours.

He added, ” ‘Mehram’ sung by Arijit Singh is one of those special melodies that also defies the known grammar of song structures and ‘Khaalipan’ sung by Abhay Jodhpurkar and Meenal has a blend of traditional film music and contemporary modern elements. Working with Imtiaz and Irshad is something I enjoy and I hope like our previous collaborations these songs also resonate with the listeners.”

The background score of the show has been composed by Anand Bhaskar and Ajay Jayanthi and its title track by Ishaan Chhabra.

The story of the show ‘Dr. Arora – Gupt Rog Visheshagya’ is a light-hearted dramedy that chronicles the life and times of a sex consultant and his various patients. Set in Central India, the show features Kumud Mishra in the title role.

Created by Imtiaz Ali, the show is directed by Sajid Ali and Archit Kumar and produced by Mohit Choudhary.

The show stars Vidya Malavade, Sandeepa Dhar, Vivek Mushran, Gaurav Parajuli, Ajitesh Gupta, Pitobash and Shekhar Suman in pivotal roles.

The show will be released on SonyLIV on July 22.

Your comments

Loading Facebook Comments ...